Baile Beo
Muileann an tSiáin · Sion Mills
Baile

Muileann an tSiáin

Sion Mills
Mill of the fairy mound
Sion Mills derives its name from the townland of Seein, an anglicization of the Irish name Muileann an tSiáin—meaning mill of the fairy mound. The village was established in 1835 when the Herdman brothers, James, John, and George, acquired an existing flour mill on the River Mourne and converted it into a flax-spinning operation. The Herdmans, of Scottish origin with roots in Belfast's linen in...

Discover the story behind Sion Mills, and 60,000 more Irish place names — free on Baile Beo, iPhone & Android.