Baile
Cnoc an Chrochaire
Knockcroghery
Hill of the hangman
The village name originates from a stony ridge that originally earned it the Irish name 'An Creagán' (the stoney hill), referring to protective geography. The modern name 'Cnoc an Chrochaire' (Hangman's Hill) derives from 1651, when during Oliver Cromwell's invasion, Charles Coote laid siege to Galey Castle, seat of the Irish clan Ó Ceallaigh. After the clan's defiance, its members were taken a...
Discover the story behind Knockcroghery, and 60,000 more Irish place names — free on Baile Beo, iPhone & Android.